Step into the Gap – Alice begins exciting time with CAFOD

Hello, my name is Alice and my Step into the Gap placement with CAFOD has is coming into full swing – and I’m loving it!

Alice is starting her gap year with CAFOD

Alice is starting her gap year with CAFOD

Learn about CAFOD’s gap year

Originally from Anglesey in North Wales, I took a gap year in Australia before returning to do a degree in International Studies and am now pleased to say I’m having a year with CAFOD in a field I really want to work in and am very much enjoying!

My placement is in Newman University, Birmingham with the Chaplaincy Team and everyone, staff and students, have been so welcoming and have really helped me to settle in. Hopefully through the Step into the Gap year I will be successful in promoting global development and social justice issues close to CAFOD’s heart, to as many staff and students as possible.

CAFOD envelopes have been circulating in my parish at home over certain times of the year, such as Lent and Harvest, for as long as I can remember and when I was a teenager I did some voluntary work with the local CAFOD office in Wrexham which I also thoroughly enjoyed. It’s a great feeling to think that you can make a difference to people’s lives and have a positive impact on communities and the world and to have the opportunity to have a step into the gap year with CAFOD to further this effort makes me feel very privileged.

Throughout the year I’m really looking forward to continuing on this theme of work and getting to know staff and students from all kinds of backgrounds. As this placement is going to be part of the Connect2 Ethiopia project, it’s going to be enjoyable as it will be a good way to bring the work we do here in the UK to life. I’m also excited about entering into city life as being a bit of a country bumpkin the bright lights offer lots of new experiences to be had!

Some interesting quirky facts about myself are that I am a vegetarian, I once ran up the tallest escalator at the time the wrong way and I love traveling!

Step into the Gap with CAFOD

Leave a Reply

