Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator!

rsz_graduation.png

Last week we welcomed Will Rees, the new Regional Communications Co-ordinator for CAFOD South West and Wales to the team. He is based in the South Wales office in Cardiff and here he shares a bit about his life and his role at CAFOD.

Hi there, my name’s Will Rees and I am very pleased to have joined the CAFOD team. I am 24 years old and I live in Bedwas, near Caerphilly with my fiancée Vivienne. I grew up in Pembrokeshire and am a Welsh speaker. I have recently graduated with a Master’s in Public Relations and Communications Management from Cardiff University and am very excited to be embarking on my first professional communications role.

In addition to my work with CAFOD, I also work on communications for my local rugby club, Bedwas RFC and my choir, the Aber Valley Male Voice Choir.

My interest in communications is linked to wanting to do tangible good; when I learnt about CAFOD’s commitment to social justice and how they work alongside communities across the world, I knew this was a charity that I wanted to work for. So, when I was offered the role here, I was ecstatic!

As Regional Communications Co-ordinator for South West & Wales, I cover a vast geographic area that takes in six dioceses. It is my responsibility to research, create and share stories about CAFOD, our work, our volunteers and our impact in the Birmingham, Cardiff, Clifton, Menevia, Northampton and Plymouth dioceses. This means talking to our volunteers, going to CAFOD events and lots of online investigation!

The impact of my job here at CAFOD is two-fold. Firstly, it is vital that we share and celebrate all of the hard work and successes CAFOD and our volunteers are having in Wales and the South West. Our volunteers work relentlessly to further CAFOD’s cause and we want to share this with the wider community. Secondly, we hope that by showcasing our work and our triumphs, we can engage more people and get them involved with CAFOD.

I am looking forward to getting to grips with all that is CAFOD from as far west as Pembroke Dock and Torrington, to eastern reaches of Kettering and Towcester!

I have no doubt that along the way I will meet a great number of wonderful people, working for a safe, sustainable and peaceful world.

If you have any news from your area, no matter how big or small, I would love hear from you. I can help you to promote events and celebrate successes. E-mail any and all information to wrees@cafod.org.uk

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator! | CAFOD Plymouth's Blog

  2. Pingback: Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator! | CAFOD Clifton

  3. Pingback: Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator! | CAFOD Northampton

  4. Pingback: Welcome to Will, our new Regional Communications Co-ordinator! | CAFOD South Wales Blog

Leave a Reply

