Get to know Charlotte – our new CAFOD ‘Step into the Gap’ volunteer

Bray1.jpg

Charlotte, far left, has just joined our “Step into the Gap” programme.

This week we met our new “Gapper” Charlotte Bray.  We wanted to know even more about her and so she told us all about what inspired her to work with CAFOD. 

“Aspire not to have more, but to be more!” – Blessed Oscar Romero.

This quote from Blessed Oscar Romero perfectly sums up why I decided to join Step into the Gap this year. I have just graduated from University, and instead of following the same route as my peers I decided that I wanted to take a gap year with a difference! I wanted to put my faith into action and dedicate a year of my life towards working for global justice.

Find out more about CAFOD’s gap year programme

I am passionate about social justice so would love to be instrumental in helping the Catholic Church to embody Pope Francis’ vision of a poor church in solidarity with the marginalised. But more than that, I would love to help transform the whole world into one where people of all faiths and none are in solidarity with those living in poverty. So this gap year programme with CAFOD is the first step in what will hopefully become a lifelong journey for me. This quote by Oscar Romero perfectly encapsulates what I want to get out of this coming year with CAFOD, to become more, to grow as a person and to learn more about myself, my faith and the world in which we live, and hopefully inspire others in the UK to make a difference.

Read more about our work across the world here

But a little bit more about me….  I’m 21 years old and am originally from Hereford. I have just graduated from Durham University, where I spent the last three years studying for a degree in theology. This year as part of my work for CAFOD I am going to be placed at Newman University in Birmingham, where I will be raising awareness of issues to do with global justice among the staff and students.

Check out our back to school resources for children and young people

I have been involved in fundraising for CAFOD my whole life, both at school and church, so this year I am particularly excited to see first-hand the amazing work which CAFOD and its partners undertake around the world, both in the UK and overseas. I am particularly excited to meet CAFOD’s inspirational partners overseas which, from what previous gappers have told me, will be a challenging, but transformative experience.

Keep in touch with Charlotte and the team of Step into the Gap volunteers – follow their blogs.

Leave a Reply

